Beginning July 13th to the 20th, stargazers will be treated to two heavenly body apparitions.

The planet of Jupiter and Saturn will be visible, by even simple binoculars with 15 x magnification.

In both cases, Jupiter and Saturn will be closest to our planet.

For Jupiter, it happens every 13th month and for Saturn, it is around this time of the year and incrementally adds a few weeks.

Jupiter At Its Biggest

DOUBLE PLANET TREAT NEXT WEEK
Jupiter

It is the biggest planet in the Solar System but it will be considerably bigger on the 14th of July.

This is what officially called Jupiter at opposition.

It is when the Sun, Earth, and Jupiter aligned.

Since Jupiter is much nearer during this time of the year it is estimated to be 365 million miles (588 million kilometers) away from Earth.

According to the earthsky website, it will appear at following United States’ time zones:

4 a.m. Eastern Time

3 a.m. Central Time

2 a.m. Mountain Time

1 a.m. Pacific Time

Midnight July 13th-14th Alaskan Time

July 13th, at 10 p.m. Hawaiian time

Jupiter is the fifth planet farthest from the sun.

What About Saturn?

DOUBLE PLANET TREAT NEXT WEEK
Saturn

Saturn is the sixth planet furthest to the sun.

The ringed planet will also, be at its closest point with Earth on the 20th of July.

Earth and Saturn is approximately 746 million miles (1.2 billion kilometers) apart.

However, folks from the Western Hemisphere will not be able to see Saturn.

Saturn will be on the Continental US on the following time-zone:

6 p.m. EDT, (Eastern Time)

5 p.m CDT, (Central Time)

4 p.m. MDT, (Mountain Time)

3 p.m. PDT, (Pacific Time)

2 p.m. Alaskan Time

12 noon Hawaiian Time

At present, Saturn lies some 10 times the Earth’s distance from the sun, and nine times the Earth-sun distance from Earth.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here